Time to move on from kano

Hello.

So I’ve been using kano kits and worked with kano for a few years. I’ve beta tested some projects of theirs and seen some early look into things. Even made a video with their former staff member, Mathew Keegan. Sadly the video file got corrupted and couldn’t be uploaded to youtube. lol. Kano was a huge part of my life and I will never forget it. But it’s now time for me to start a new part of my life. I was also in a wired article for Kano. They were also going to do a BBC episode on me and Kano but BBC canceled that. Such a shame…

Why am I posting it here you ask? Well to share my story with all of you parents! And besides, I doubt many kids would see this or understand it even if they did see it.

I just feel like I’ve grown out of Kano over the years. Haven’t contacted them in awhile. It’s time for me to start my own projects. I’ve been trying to start a game company with my friends. I will actually start programming things probably during college and get more people on board with the project.

My thoughts on Kano? It’s a great tool for little kids how to learn how to code but I wish they had things for teenagers too. Like more powerful devices to run latest game engines like Unity3D and Kano could teach you how to program in C# and C++. I would so use Kano’s products if they did something like that. The community? I felt like it got worse over the years and is slightly starting to get better. It was great when Kano first came out when everyone would create these magnificent creations. Then it got to kids just drawing a circle and getting a “staff pick” for it. The comments also got toxic with little kids using their little kid “swears” like “poop” and “crap” because they thought it was so called “funny”. I now have moderated on games and I just find this behavior immature. The comments were also full of massive character uses that were not needed in my opinion.